Kinston Mayor and City Council

About the Mayor and City Council

The Kinston City Council is comprised of 5 Councilmembers and the Mayor. The Councilmembers and Mayor are elected to 4 year, staggered terms every two years. They are elected "at-large" and each represent everyone in the city, as opposed to districts. The Mayor leads all meetings of the City Council. The Mayor is not a regular voting member; however, may vote in the event of a tied vote. The Mayor appoints a Mayor Pro Tem from the elected City Councilmembers.

Staff Appointments

The City Council appoints the City Manager, City Attorney and the City Clerk. The City Attorney acts as legal counsel for the City. The City Clerk is the custodian of the official records for the City Council and serves as liaison between the Mayor, City Councilmembers and the public. Those wishing to reach the Mayor and City Councilmembers, should contact the City Clerk.

Videos & Broadcast of Meetings

The City Council meetings are broadcast live on the Government Access Channel for citizens who have their cable subscription with Suddenlink and may be streamed from the Agenda and Minutes page. 


Kinston City Council Regular Meetings and Work Sessions

  • 1st Monday of each month (except holidays) the Regular City Council meeting is at 5:30 pm
  • 3rd Monday of each month the Work Session is at 5:30 pm
  • 3rd Monday of each month (except December) the Regular City Council meeting is at 7 pm
  1. Robert Swinson IV

    Council Member

  1. Antonio Hardy

    Council Member

  1. Felicia Solomon

    Mayor Pro Tem

  1. Kristal Suggs

    Council Member

  1. Sammy Aiken

    Council Member

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available Friday prior to the meetings. Minutes are available after City Council approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes